Mid Century Facelift

When Craigslist postings started popping up left and right for mid century furniture in Boise, it waas reason enough to investigate further.

What I found was Broadway Vintage – A refuge for unappreciated mid century and Danish Modern finds rescued from estate sales, thrift stores and – as one of the owners recently told me – even bought right off the front porch of houses.

Both inventory and patron were filled with the usual suspects; Eames and Wassily  replicas, Arch lamps, Lane coffee tables and thick-framed, vintage-briefcase-toting hipsters eye balling console tables to house their collection of antique SLR cameras and Jesus and Mary Chain records. Since their arrival on the scene in winter of 2011 I’ve watched as their audience, knowledge and quality of pieces have risen.

I found this hiding in the basement in a room of unfinished pieces on one my first visits.

I enthusiastically made the purchase, deciding to tackle the issue of missing foam later.

A few weeks later I came upon this ottoman at a thrift store.

A perfect mate! Looking past the scuffed legs and disaster of polyester upholstery was challenging but if I  found the right fabric, I new I could resurrect it.

Out came the staples and off came the legs.

I toyed with color choices – first red, then matte grey, but ultimately  the clean modern lines wanted themselves a little satin black.

Before I proceed it is imperative that I explain the tragedy of photo quality is thanks to the suicide of my camera.

Boo. Boo hoo hoo.

But the show must go on.

Ta-da!

That’s a wrap, folks.

xx SP

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by retro furniture on September 24, 2013 - 9:29 am

    Excellent issues altogether, you only obtained a whole new audience. Quantity anyone suggest of your publish which you made a couple of days in past times? Every selected?

Thanks for your commentary! You're the real hero here.

