I See An Ugly Sofa and I Want To Paint It Black.

I think that’s the second time I’ve used a Rolling Stone song for an interior design pun. Ol’ Mr. Jagger is probably rolling in his grave right about now.

What? Still alive?

I kid you, Mick. I kid.

But seriously. Let’s talk about painted furniture. And I really mean painted furniture.

I first researched this option this past summer when I bought these fellas and was trying to think of a time and cost saving alternative to re-upholstery.

And then last week I spotted this before and after gem on Design Sponge.

Stella of Mon Petit Studio commandeered this fabulous sofa for $25 and after reading about the fabric painting situation online, she gave it a whirl.

(First she taped off the woodwork.)

Using a combination of black flat latex paint and Delta Ceramcoat Textile Medium (an additive keeps acrylic/latex paint flexible enough to use to paint a couch, without all of it just flaking off) she got to work with a paintbrush!

And voila! Is that incredible or is that incredible?

Apparently, it feels pretty damn good too.

Stella, girl. You got style. I’m going to copycat you. And you’re going to like it. Or your going to hate it. Or you’ll feel ambivalent about it.

Read the detailed how-to guide here.

++

Over and out.

xx SP

, , ,

  1. #1 by monpetitstudio on March 6, 2012 - 6:53 pm

    Oh hell to the yes! Clearly you’re a gal after my own heart and I am eagerly awaiting to see how your sweet little fellas come out. Yup. They’re going to be freakin’ awesome. I know it.

    Many many many thanks for the shout-out. You have gained yourself a blog follower and fellow diy shenanigans lover. 😉

    Stella

  2. #2 by fake prada shoes on May 29, 2013 - 5:18 pm

    Fastidious answer back in return of this issue with firm arguments and explaining the whole thing I See An Ugly Sofa and I Want To Paint It Black. | suitepotato on the topic of that.

  3. #3 by nicole on November 18, 2013 - 7:06 am

    Is it guaranteed that the paint will not come off on clothes over time.

  4. #4 by vigrx bodybuilding on March 17, 2014 - 11:07 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it
    is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization.

    Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being
    ripped off? I’d truly appreciate it.

Thanks for your commentary! You're the real hero here.

